Sunday, October 24, 2010

"The Five Love Languages" by Gary Chapman

The Five Love Languages is a practical book for improving one's marriage. It points out that different things are more meaningful than others when it comes to expressing love. Loving acts can fall into the following five basic categories: words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, gifts, physical touch. Once you determine what your mate's primary love language is, you can work at keeping them feeling loved more effectively. It's also good to determine your own primary love language and let your mate know. Several things I plan to implement after reading this book are:

(1) Focus on encouraging, complimenting and using kinds words every day when speaking to my husband.
(2) Have a sharing time each day where we each share three things that happened to us that day and how we feel about them.
(3) Make a list of things we want to do together and do at least two per month.
(4) Plan a new event with strong memory potential and do it this year.
(5) Play "fill your tank" game. Ask spouse three times a week how full his love tank is on range of 0-10 and ask what I can do to fill it up today.
(Karen's review 3/9/10)

Have you read this one? What did you think of it?

1 comment:

  1. We loved this book. Now I'm reading The Five Love Languages of Children. Also an excellent book!


Related Posts with Thumbnails